Week in Seven Words #1

(Updated) – I’ve met HKatz of The Sill of the World, one of my favorite blogs, while I was maintaining my old blog, www.nancycudis.com. I haven’t been blogging for the past year due to personal and health reasons. Upon my comeback, I returned on Weebly then to WordPress rather than on Blogger. Despite this, I retain my avidness as a reader for the blogs I have followed in the past, including HKatz’s.

I have always admired her for her creativity in her Week in Seven Words, in coming up with scenes for words that sound, or truly are, simple. For example, for the word expires, she wrote, “The elevator groans open and admits you at your peril”. Another example is the word absolution for which she wrote, “They love talking about actions having consequences until it comes to something they’ve done. Then, good intentions are all that matter”.

As of this writing, HKatz has so far produced 314 posts for Week in Seven Words. Such endeavor as always encouraged me to challenge my creativity. Hence, I wish to support her and in the process challenge my own creativity by participating in her weekly activity by coming up with my own scenes for seven words. I may not be able to participate every week but I’ll be able to do so in some. I may be a bit rusty in some parts (I haven’t written creatively for some time) but I’ll do my best.

Here is my first Week in Seven Words:

vicissitude

A poor family of seven, who depends on eating what they can get from the nearest dump site, pastes a cardboard star on the door to which they ardently pray for any kind of food for the next day. Ginoo, Ginoo, Ginoo, tabangi kami!”

cabbage

She wrote a book in 10 months, revising and rewriting parts and lumps of here and there. Then she put it online for likes and views. There was too much love and attention for the book that one person in the crowd copied the entire length and published it somewhere else.

Week in Seven Words

soporific

The classroom was stuffy. There were 52 students after all. The July heat penetrates the room, defeating the three electric fans. The teacher, fanning herself vigorously, discussed the periodic table of elements with her continuous low humming voice. Four students at the back fought to stay awake.

thaumaturgy

Many people lined up to see and pray to the famous small turtle reported on TV. The reptile bears an image on its back, which looks like the benevolent Sto. Niño.

wane

One public insult blurted on TV, without an ounce of regret, and the President’s popularity among the masses seems to have fallen off a notch.

vulpine

Her pose, with arms on the armrest and one leg crossed over the other, deliberately showed a small part of the black underwear. Her smile curved up slightly, showing off her right dimple. Her eyes, which never let go of its target, communicated a hundred beguiling messages.

muckrake

His passion for the subject was obvious in the way he preaches about the principles and practices of investigative reporting, including carefully gathering data, protecting sources and exposing issues that highlight the government’s public accountability.

One thought on “Week in Seven Words #1

  1. Pingback: Week in Seven Words #2 | she who scrivens got a swamper

Leave a Reply

